Asian Media Awards 2021 Finalists


Journalist of the Year

Anushka Asthana – Deputy Political Editor, ITV News

Rishma Dosani – Assistant Entertainment Editor, Metro UK

Rohit Kachroo – Global Security Editor, ITV News

Secunder Kermani – Pakistan & Afghanistan Correspondent, BBC News

Rahil Sheikh – Journalist, BBC Panorama

Nalini Sivathasan – Broadcast Journalist, BBC Asian Network

Darshna Soni – Home Affairs Correspondent, Channel 4 News

Best Investigation

Covid Critical: One Doctor’s Story
Filmed & directed by Dr Saleyha Ahsan for Channel 4 Dispatches 

India’s Forgotten People
Directed & Hosted by Deana Uppal; Assistant Director : Akbar Khan; Produced by DKU Media; Co Produced by Richard Blanshard & Edited by Miranda Watts

Libya’s ‘Game of Drones’
Investigated by Benjamin Strick; Nader Ibrahim; Leone Hadavi and Manisha Ganguly for BBC News Africa

Nearly 1,500 Allegations of Sexual Misconduct by Police Officers
Reported by Yasminara Khan; Produced by Sean Clare; Camera by Jonathan Callery & Tony Mewse for BBC Newsnight

The Plight of Overseas Students During Lockdown
Reported by Anja Popp; Produced by Shaheen Sattar; Camera Operator & Edited by Wil Davies for ITN Channel 4 News

Regional Journalist of the Year

Yasmin Bodalbhai – Reporter & Presenter, ITV Central

Pamela Gupta – Freelance Reporter

Navtej Johal – Journalist, BBC East Midlands

Charanpreet Khaira – Reporter, ITV Wales

Nazia Mogra – Producer & Presenter, BBC North West

Monika Plaha – Reporter & Presenter, BBC Look North

Rajiv Popat – Reporter & Presenter, ITV Central

Gurdip Thandi – Local Democracy Reporter, Birmingham Mail/Birmingham Live

Outstanding Young Journalist

Naina Bhardwaj – Reporter, Daily Record

Alyshea Chand – Digital News Producer, ITN Productions

Andrew Misra – Journalist, ITV Tyne Tees & ITV Border

Meera Navlakha – Freelance Writer

Renuka Odedra – Freelance Journalist

Jeevan Ravindran – Freelance Journalist

Megan Samrai – Reporter, Berkshire Live

Aisha Zahid – News Reporter, Sky News

Sports Journalist of the Year

Vaishali Bhardwaj – Reporter & Presenter, Premier League & Sky News

Sachin Nakrani – Writer & Editor, Guardian Sport

Aaron Paul – Reporter, Commentator & Presenter, BBC Radio 5 Live Sport

Kal Sajad – Broadcast Journalist, BBC Sport

Miriam Walker-Khan – Freelance Sports Journalist

Report of the Year

BAME Sexual Abuse: ‘Failures’ of Victims to be Investigated
Reported by Yasminara Khan; Produced by Hannah Barnes; Camera & Edited by Keith Morris for BBC Newsnight

More Cultural Support Needed in Mental Health for South Asians
Aisha Zahid for Sky News

Music Boosts Memories for Ethnic Minority Dementia Patients
Shabnam Mahmood for BBC News & BBC Asian Network

Muslim Female Councillor
Rahila Bano for BBC News & BBC Asian Network

Orphanage Scandal
Yasmin Khatun Dewan for TRT World

Quarantine In Hotels
Reported by Gaggan Sabherwal; Produced by Tobias Chapple for BBC News and BBC World Service

Youngest Covid Victim in the UK
Darshna Soni for Channel 4 News


Radio Presenter of the Year

Anushka Arora

Raj Baddhan

Ankur Desai

Raj Ghai

DJ Haashim

Noreen Khan

Best Radio Show

Bobby Friction – BBC Asian Network

Breakfast with Gillie & Vallisa Chauhan – Lyca Radio

Breakfast with Harpz Kaur – BBC Asian Network

The Official Turn Up with Official Hawa – Asian FX

Sonia Dutta – Sunrise Radio

The Bee & Brekky Show – Asian FX

Radio Station of the Year

Asian FX

BBC Asian Network

Lyca Radio

Sunrise Radio


Best TV Character

Jaz Deol as Kheerat Panesar in Eastenders

Kulvinder Ghir as Cyril in Still Open All Hours

Shelley King as Yasmeen Metcalfe in Coronation Street

Nikesh Patel as Tom Kapoor in Starstruck

Paige Sandhu as Meena Jutla in Emmerdale

Best Programme / Show

Being British Bangladeshi
BBC Three

My God, I’m Queer
Behind The Facade Films for Channel 4

The Wedding Guru
Yeti Television for BBC Wales

We are Lady Parts
Working Title Films for Channel 4


Best Publication / Website

BizAsia Live

Burnt Roti


Eastern Eye

Best Blog

Fresh and Fearless

Halal Food Travel Guy

Harnaam Kaur


Best Podcast

Brown Girls Do It Too


It’s Preeti Personal

No Country for Young Women

Red Hot Chilli Writers

The Shabby and Man Podcast


Creative Media Award

‘Football and Me’
The Football Association & Rubika Shah, Smoking Bear Productions

‘Get In Cambridge’
University of Cambridge

Same Voices Unite: West End Stars Raise Awareness for India Covid Relief
Irvine Iqbal

#StrongerRoots : Every Strand Tells A Story
Ethnic Reach for Vatika UK

#TakeTheVaccine : Vaccine Hesitancy Campaign for Ethnic Minority Communities
Media Hive

Media Agency of the Year

Alliance Advertising

Ethnic Reach

House of Advertising

Media Hive


Best Stage Production

Full English
Natalie Davies & Bent Architect
Lead Artist: Natalie Davies; Featuring Kamal Khan & Lucy Hird; Lighting Designer: Sherry Coenen; Projection & Sound Designer Dave Searle; Movement Director: Jenn Kay; Designed & Directed by Jude Wright
Full English is devised from the journals & memories of Natalie Davies

Jabala and the Jinn
Turtle Key Arts
Written by Asif Khan; Directed by Rosamunde Hutt; Creative Producer: Charlotte Cunningham; Lighting Designer: Aideen Malone; Sound & Music Designer: James Hesford; Set & Costume Designer: Mila Sanders; Featuring: Safiyya Ingar; Natalie Davies & Jay Varsani

Space Productions
Written by Lekha Desai Morrison; Directed by Bethany Sharp; Assistant Director: India Aujla; Featuring: Patsy Prince, Deven Modha, Lee Farrell & Selina Hotwani; Music Consultants: Selina Hotwani & Deven Modha; Set & Costume Designer: Constance Villemot

May Queen
Paines Lough & Belgrade Theatre
Written by Frankie Meredith; Directed by Balisha Karra; Featuring: Yasmin Dawes; Designer: Lydia Denno; Assistant Director: Kaleyo Baxe

Nartan Online Series 2020
Nupur Arts

Lubna Kerr
Directed by Johnny McKnight; Dramaturge: Douglas Maxwell; Set Design: Mela Adela; Filmed by William Samson
Supported by Creative Scotland, The Army & Tunnocks


AMA Best Newcomer

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony

Media Personality of the Year

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony

The Asian Media Awards return on Friday October 29 at the Emirates Old Trafford Manchester.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati & Faisal Islam.

The University of Salford are Premier Partners to the Asian Media Awards.

Partners to the awards include ITV, MediaCom, Reach PLC, Manchester Evening News, Press Association Training &

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, 6G Internet, Emirates Old Trafford & L.C.C.C, Supreme Dream Events, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts