Asian Media Awards 2018 Finalists


MMU & Routes Into Languages Journalist of the Year

Kalpana Fitzpatrick – Finance Editor, Hearst UK (Good Housekeeping, Red, Prima)

Faisal Islam – Political Editor, Sky News

Ashish Joshi – Reporter & Presenter, Sky News

Secunder Kermani – Pakistan & Afghanistan Correspondent, BBC

Anisa Subedar – Senior Journalist & Producer, BBC

Best Investigation

Bollywood’s Dark Secret
Why Hasn’t Bollywood Had A #METOO Moment – BBC India, Rajini Vaidyanathan (Correspondent), Pratiksha Ghildial (Producer), Varun Nayar (Shoot-Edit), Kate Peters (Executive Producer). Additional Reporting By Supriya Sobti

The Truth About Muslim Marriage
Channel 4 Dispatches, True Vision Yorkshire

The Unspoken Alcohol Problem Among UK Punjabis
BBC Digital Pilots & Skills, Aidan Castelli, Anusha Kumar, Ramaa Sharma, Ed Lowther & Chayya Syal

‘Tories Islamophobia’
Shehab Khan, The Independent

Beards, Bails and Boundaries: England’s Muslim Cricketers
Ankur Desai

White Right: Meeting the Enemy
Reported by Deeyah Khan for ITV and Also Streamed on Netflix. Produced by FUUSE

Sports Journalist of the Year

Shekhar Bhatia, Daily Mail Online

Shamoon Hafez, BBC Sport

Seema Jaswal

Nikesh Rughani, BBC Sport & BBC Asian Network

Regional Journalist of the Year

Raveena Ghattaura, ITV News Anglia

Navtej Johal, BBC East Midlands Today

Sabbiyah Parvez, BBC Look North

Rajiv Popat, ITV Central

Balvinder Sidhu, ITV Central

Outstanding Young Journalist

Ashna Hurynag

Amani Khan

Miriam Walker-Khan

Ravneet Nandra

Inzamam Rashid

Haider Saleem

TV Report of the Year

Asian Girls: Grooming Victims
Balvinder Sidhu for ITV Central

Child Victims Rohingya
Ashish Joshi for Sky News

Sophia ‘The Suffragette Princess’
Sangeeta Bhabra for ITV Meridian

Grenfell Tower: ‘Voices from the Ground’
Tasnim Nazeer for The Islam Channel


Radio Station of the Year

BBC Asian Network

Sunrise Radio

Regional Radio Station of the Year

Asian Star Radio 101.6FM

Radio XL

Sabras Radio

Best Radio Show

Asian Beats, BBC Radio 1

Mawaan & Emily, BBC Asian Network

Mobeen Azhar’s Late Night Discussion, BBC Asian Network

Panjabi Hit Squad, BBC Asian Network

The Simply Bhangra Top 10, Sunrise Radio

Seli & Shivi, Lyca Radio

Radio Presenter of the Year

Anushka Arora

Bobby Friction

Nomia Iqbal

Noreen Khan

Yasmeen Khan

Shabnam Sahi

Rising Star In Radio Award

Vallisa Chauhan

DJ Haashim

Harpz Kaur

Kavita Kukar

Jasmine Takhar



Best TV Programme / Show

Lost Boys? What’s Going Wrong for Asian Men
Presenter Mehreen Baig; Executive Producer Joe Evans; Executive Producer Neil Crombie; Director Toby Trackman. Swan Films

Man Like Mobeen
Written by Guz Khan & Andy Milligan; Directed By Ollie Parsons, Tiger Productions. BBC Three

The Boy with the Topknot
Written by Mick Ford (based on the novel by Sathnam Sanghera); Directed By Lynsey Miller; Produced By Nisha Parti. A Kudos Production In Association with Parti Productions. BBC 2

Street Food Servants
Narrated By Anita Rani; Produced By George Henton; Executive Producer: Dippy Chaudhary. BBC 2

White Kid, Brown Kid
Filmed, Produced & Directed By Luned Tonderai; Executive Producer Ian Duncan. Channel 4

Best TV Character

Nitin Ganatra as Masood Ahmed in Eastenders

Guz Khan as Mobeen in Man Like Mobeen

Bhavna Limbachia as Rana Nazir in Coronation Street

Sanjeev Bhaskar as DI Sunny Khan in Unforgotten

TV Channel of the Year

Colors TV UK

Sony Entertainment Television

Star Plus


Best Website / Publication





The Asian Today

Best Blog


Ibz Mo


Faima Bakar

Best Video Channel

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October


Media Agency of the Year

Algebra Consulting


Here&Now 365

Ethnic Reach

Sterling Media

Media Professional of the Year

Farzana Baduel, Curzon PR

Natasha Mudhar, Sterling Media

Vickram Sembi, Exterion Media

Manish Tiwari, Here&Now 365

Creative Media Award

As British As Campaign – Penny Appeal

State Bank of India ‘March of Time’ – Cultr

Vinod Nalawade

#WeAreOneFamily – Ethnicreach & One Family


Best Stage Production

Child of the Divide
By Sudha Bhuchar & Directed By Jim Pope, Featuring, Karan Gill, Halema Hussain, Devesh Kishore, Nyla Levy, Diljohn Singh. Produced By Bhuchar Boulevard In Association with The Partition History Project (PHP), Polka Theatre & Big Imaginations Festival

Written By Rani Moorthy; Directed by Alan Lane, Rasa Theatre & Contact. Supported By Curve & Slung Low

Hijabi Monologues
Written By: Sahar Ullah, Nimmo Ismail, Hanan Issa, Amal Abdi. Directed By Milli Bhatia, Featuring: Zainab Hasan, Ayesha Dharker, Nadi Kemp Sayfi, Hibo Muuse, Aryana Ramkhalawon, Michal Keyamo. Bush Theatre

Concept, Direction, Choreography: Aakash Odedra. Created & Performed By: Melissa Ugolini, Su Guzey, Beril Senoz, Gizem Aksu, Yasin Anar, Evrim Akyay, Taner Gungor

Pyar Actually
Written By Sukh Ojla; Directed by Pravesh Kumar; Designer Rebecca Brower; Lighting Designer Jack Weir; Sound Designer Matt Eaton. Rifco Arts & Watford Palace Theatre

By Rabiah Hussain. Directed by Richard Speir. Featuring Aasiya Shah & Humaira Iqbal. Arcola Theatre

Best Live Event

BBC Asian Network Live

Empire of the Sikhs

London Halal Food Festival

Paul Chowdhry ‘Innit’


AMA Best Newcomer

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October

Media Personality of the Year

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October

The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film Award

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October

Winners and recipients of AMA special awards will be announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Thursday 25 October.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia and Anita Rani.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, Press Association Training, Primesight & The Palace Theatre & Opera House.

The official Charity Partner for 2018 is CLIC Sargent.

The event is also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes Into Languages, AMT Lawyers, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Namey, Supreme Dream Events, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts