Asian Media Awards Shortlist Unveiled At City Hall

The UK’s leading media professionals gathered as the full shortlist for the Asian Media Awards was revealed.

The event was held in aid of official charity partners at London’s Living Room at the top of City Hall. In attendance were invited shortlisted candidates as well as partners and sponsors for the first Asian Media Awards.

The list includes a wide range of individuals and organisations from the across the country.

Presenter and broadcaster Lisa Aziz hosted the night, she told the audience, “Asian media has come a long way, as have Asians in the media industry in the last two decades.

“With the growth in digital television, social media and the internet there are more Asians in the media industry at all levels than ever before.

“So it is perhaps only fitting that we have launched the Asian Media Awards to celebrate the success of our presenters, television stations, newspapers, radio stations and bloggers.”

Also speaking on the night were judging panel members, Sanjay Shabi of Mediacom and Shamim Chowdry of Al-Jazeerah.

Umbreen Ali, Media Manager at the Asian Media Awards said, “Since the inaugural launch, there has been an overwhelming response to the Asian Media Awards. That can be seen in the calibre of the short list.

“This is essentially what the awards epitomises – embracing talent in the UK on every spectrum.”

The Asian Media Awards will take place on Thursday 31 October at the Hilton Deansgate, For further information on the awards you can log on to or

Asian Media Awards 2013 Shortlist:


Journalist of the year
Nadeem Badshah (Freelance Reporter)
Aasma Day (Reporter, LEP)
Shabnam Mahmood (BBC Entertainment)
Reshma Rumsey (Features Editor, ITV Meridian)
Divya Talwar (BBC Asian Network)
Poonam Taneja (BBC Asian Network)

Best Investigation
‘India: A Dangerous Place to be a Woman’ By BBC Northern Ireland Production for BBC Three, Presented by Radha Bedi.
‘Possession, Jinn and Britain’s Backstreet Exorcists’ By Catrin Nye (BBC Asian Network)
‘Child Car Seats Investigation’ By Reshma Rumsey (ITV Meridian)
‘The Hunt for Britain’s Sex Gangs’ Produced by True Vision for Channel 4 Presented & Reported by Tazeen Ahmad


Best Website

Best Blog
Salma Haidrani (Various)


Magazine of the year
AGI Magazine
Asian Bride
Asian Wealth
Asiana Wedding

Newspaper of the Year
Asian Lite
Asian Voice
Daily Jang
Eastern Eye

Best local newspaper or magazine
Asian Leader
Asian Today
Asian World
Pukaar Magazine


Local report of the year
‘India Calling’ BBC East Midlands Today
‘Mosque Foodbank’ BBC North West
‘Returning to Tonfanau’ ITV Wales This Week

Best TV Character
Mandeep Dhillon (Saz Kaur, Some Girls)
Himesh Patel (Tanwar Masood, Eastenders)
Adil Ray (Mr Khan, Citizen Khan)

TV channel of the year (Digital)
Sony Entertainment Asia
Star Plus
Zee TV

Cultural TV channel of the year
ARY Digital
Bangla TV
Zee Punjabi

Best TV Show (Digital)
Curry On (B4U)
Real Talk (Brit Asia)
Sukhi Bart in Punjab (Brit Asia)

Best TV Drama (Digital)
Diya Aur Baati Hum (Star Plus)
Qubool Hai (Zee TV)
SaraswatiChandra (Star Plus)

PR & Marketing

Media Agency of the Year
Media Moguls
Sterling Media

Media Professional of the Year
Samir Ahmed (PR 24:7)
Reena Combo (Ikonz)
Yasmin Mahmood (Oceanic Consulting)

Best Live Event
‘Break the Floorboards’ (Rifco and Watford Palace Theatre production) May 03 2013 – June 22 2013
‘The National Asian Wedding Show’ (October 2012 – January 2013)
‘Rahat Live’ (2012 Tour)
‘Shreya Ghoshal Live’ (Friday 26 April – 06 May 2013)


Radio station of the Year
BBC Asian Network
Panjab Radio
Sunrise London

Radio station of the Year (local)
Asian Sound Radio (Manchester)
Asian Star 101.6FM (Slough)
Nusound (London)
Sunrise Yorkshire

Radio Presenter of the Year
Bobby Friction (BBCAsian Network)
DJ Neev (Kiss FM)
Nihal (BBC Asian Network)
Noreen Khan (BBC Asian Network)

Best Radio show
Kavita Kukar (Asian Star 101.6FM)
Nihal (BBC Asian Network)
Tommy Sandhu (BBC Asian Network)


International Media Award
1Forty Award Campaign of the Year
Best Social and Charitable Campaign
The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television Award
Media Personality of the Year
Outstanding Contribution

Related Posts