Asian Media Awards 2017 Finalists


Journalist of the Year

Tazeen Ahmad

Tufayel Ahmed

Shekhar Bhatia

Nelufar Hedayat

Tanveer Mann

Kavita Puri

Best Investigation

Camber Sands Investigation
ITV Meridian

Halala: The Men Who Sell Divorce
BBC Asian Network and Victoria Derbyshire Programme

Islam’s Non-Believers
Deeyah Khan, Fuuse Films for ITV Exposure

Racist Britain: Channel 4 Dispatches
Producer: Bushra Siddiq; Director: Ben Ryder; Executive Producer: Lucie Kon; Reporter: Seyi Rhodes

The Sikhs of Smethwick
Billy Dosanjh for BBC Four

The Traffickers
Nelufar Hedayat for Lightbox

Regional Journalist of the Year

Anila Dhami – ITV Tyne Tees

Audrey Dias – BBC Midlands Today

Navtej Johal – BBC East Midlands

Rajiv Popat – ITV Central

Outstanding Young Journalist

Arandeep Singh Dhillon – Warrington Guardian

Shehab Khan – The Independent

Shehnaz Khan – Writer and Journalist

Monika Plaha – BBC Breakfast

Inzamam Rashid – BBC Radio Manchester

TV Report of the Year

Charity (Bhaarat Welfare Trust)
Sumeer Kalyani for BBC East Midlands Today

Disability Dating
By Anisa Kadri for BBC Asian Network and BBC World

Former Members of Banned Terror Group Meet at Far-Right Training Camp
By Rohit Kachroo, Producer: Becky Kelly for ITV News

India’s Partition 70 Years On: ‘I Killed A Man’
By Secunder Kermani for BBC

Male Honour Abuse
By Katie Razzall, Producer: Yasminara Khan for BBC Newsnight

Teesside: Can Locals and Asylum Seekers Get Along?
By Assed Baig for Channel Four


Publication of the Year

Asian Express

Asian Wealth Magazine

Eastern Eye

The Asian Today


Best Website

Best Blog

British Bindi

Halal Girl About Town



Taran Bassi

Best Video Channel

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October


Radio Station of the Year

BBC Asian Network

Sunrise Radio

Regional Radio Station of the Year

Asian Star Radio 101.6FM

Fever 107.3FM

Sabras Radio

Sunrise Yorkshire

Radio Presenter of the Year

Anushka Arora, Sunrise Radio

Bobby Friction, BBC Asian Network

Yasmeen Khan, Talk Radio and BBC Three Counties

Kavita Kukar, Sino Radio

Nihal, BBC Asian Network and BBC Radio 5 Live

Paul Shah, Sunrise Radio

Best Radio Show

The Breakfast Show with Raj and Sonia, Sunrise Radio

Drive Time with DJ Haashim, Asian Star Radio 101.6FM

Mawaan and Emily, BBC Asian Network

Panjabi Hit Squad, BBC Asian Network

Shivi Hotwani, Lyca Radio

The Guz Khan Show, BBC Asian Network


Best TV Programme/Show

Ackley Bridge

My Family, Partition and Me: India 1947

Muslims Like Us

The Selfless Sikh: Faith on the Front Line

Three Girls

TV Channel of the Year

Brit Asia TV


Star Plus

Sony Entertainment Television Asia

Best TV Character

Asim Chaudhry as Chabuddy G in People Just do Nothing

Bhavna Limbachia as Rana Nazir in Coronation Street

Adil Ray as Sadiq Nawaz in Ackley Bridge

Indira Varma as DS Nina Suresh in Paranoid


Best Stage Production

Anita and Me
Adapted by Tanika Gupta; Directed by Roxana Silbert; Based on the book by Meera Syal. The Touring Consortium Theatre Company and Birmingham Repertory Theatre

Written and Co-Produced by Asif Khan (AIK productions); Co-Producer: Jonathan Kennedy (Tara Arts); Directed by: Nona Shepphard; Designed by Mila Sanders Featuring: Mitesh Soni; Nigel Hastings; Shireen Farkhoy; Rez Kempton; Beruce Khan

Miss Meena and the Masala Queens
Artistic Director Pravesh Kumar; Written by Harvey Virdi, Featuring: Ali Ariaie; Harvey Dhadda; Raj Ghatak. Rifco Arts and Watford Palace Theatre

Mother Tongues from Farther Lands
Written and Directed by: Sajeela Kershi; Produced by Dawinder Bansal. Featuring: Shobna Gulati, Shobu Kapoor, Shyama Pereira. (Ayesha Hazirika replaced Shyama at Southbank show); Set design by Shanaz Gulzaar. Commission from Southbank centre in partnership with Alchemy national partners: Black Country touring, cast Doncaster, and Oldham Coliseum Theatre. Working with regional South Asian women’s groups throughout its creation

Sukanya: An Opera by Ravi Shankar
Directed by Suba Das; Conducted by David Murphy. Featuring: Susanna Hurrell, Alok Kumar, Keel Watson, Michel de Souza, Njabulo Madlala. London Philharmonic Orchestra, Royal Opera House and Curve Theatre

Best Live Event

BBC Asian Network Comedy

Magic Lantern Festival

Partition 70 Years On


Media Agency of the Year

Alliance Advertising and Marketing

Ethnic Reach

Media Hive

Oceanic Consulting

Sterling Media

Media Professional of the Year

Arika Murtza

Govind Shahi

Sunny Suri

Creative Media Award

All Zee No Fee Campaign

Finding Fatimah Movie Campaign

‘I Am Yezidi’ Exhibition Campaign

KA Media

RIA Money Transfer Campaign


AMA Best Newcomer

Nisha Aaliya

Bhavin Bhatt

Anthony Sahota

Media Personality of the Year

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October.

The Sophiya Haque Services to British Television & Film Award

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October.

Outstanding Contribution to Media Award

Winner to be announced at the AMA ceremony on 25 October.

Winners and recipients of AMA special awards will be announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Wednesday 25 October.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia and Anita Anand.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, Press Association Training & Primesight.

The official Charity Partners for 2017 are Sightsavers.

The event is also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes Into Languages, AMT Lawyers, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Supreme Dream Events, Payal and Cleartwo.

Related Posts