Sony Entertainment Television Wins TV Channel of the Year 2022

Sony Entertainment Television was named TV Channel of the year at the 10th Asian Media Awards.

The 2022 awards celebrated the achievements of journalists, broadcasters and leading creative industry professional.

The ceremony hosted by Sky Sports News presenter Bela Shah also saw special awards for LBC News host Lisa Aziz, BBC 5Live broadcaster Nihal Arthanayake and acclaimed TV and stage actor Kulvinder Ghir.


The awards honoured journalism, online, radio, TV, creative media, stage, theatre and live events in 23 categories and was back at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate where the first awards took place in 2013.

The University of Salford are the Premier Partners for the awards which aim to shine a light on the accomplishments of media professionals from across the UK.

Neeraj Arora – EVP & Head of International Business for Sony Pictures Networks said: “Over the last few years, we have seen a lot of changes in viewing habits largely due to changes in content landscape and choice available.

“Regardless of these obstacles, Sony Entertainment Television has been able to adapt and have continued to deliver viewers fresh new programming and top viewer rated shows like Bade Achhe Lagte Hai, Super Dancer and Indian Idol.

And, whilst majority of the content is produced in India, Sony TV have always focussed on being at the heart of community within the UK.

“This is something that is very important to the brand, being able to reach out to our audiences and communities to celebrate, support, cheer lead and encourage local talent and small businesses.

“I would like to thank all of our business partners for their continued support, but especially thank our loyal viewers more than ever for choosing the channel to keep them entertained.”

The 2022 Asian Media Awards winners of all categories and special awards were revealed at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday October 28.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati, Faisal Islam & Adil Ray.

The University of Salford are Premier Partners to the Asian Media Awards.

Partners to the awards include ITV, MediaCom, Reach PLC, Manchester Evening News &

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, 6G Internet, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Fritz AV, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts