‘I’m Just A Brown Boy Who Likes Football’: Aaron Paul Named 2023 Sports Journalist of Year

Aaron Paul was named Sports Journalist of the Year at the 2023 Asian Media Awards.

The stars of radio, TV and broadcasting gathered at the 11th AMA ceremony at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

The awards, which are supported by the University of Salford, celebrated winners in a range of categories in journalism, stage, online and creative media and were hosted by Magic FM’s Neev Spencer.


Those honoured on the night included broadcaster Tina Daheley, LBC presenter Sangita Myska and Mihir Bose who received the Outstanding Contribution to Media Award.

This year Meera Syal and Sanjeev Bhaskar were recognised with the Sophiya Haque Services to Television, Film and Theatre Award.

Shabaz Ali who takes merciless aim at the seemingly spoilt, the weird and the bizarre on Tiktok picked up the Best Video Channel accolade whilst Polite Society star, Priya Kansara was named Best Newcomer.

Aaron Paul is a reporter, commentator and presenter on BBC Radio 5 Live Sport, BBC London Sport and ITV Football.

Aaron told the audience he was ‘just a brown boy who loves football’.

Speaking in the interview room later he said: “It feels good. It is great to be recognised by your peers but it is an emotional day.

“It is good to be around a great group of people and have great management who back me.

“I have had a lot of difficult times personally in the last few years. Some really tough times and they have never faltered my bosses. They have never denied me opportunities or passed me off and I appreciate that a lot.

Aaron dedicated the award to his Nan, “She passed away in June. I did the Roland Garros final and 6 mins after I came off air I got told my grandma had passed.

“My best mate and the love of my life. This is for her.”

Aaron has been at the forefront of football league coverage in the country. Honing himself as the lead voice for the BBC’s EFL coverage, Aaron has worked
to build the 72+ EFL show to become the leading Football League programme in the country.

He has also been a focal voice for the Premier League and European football output across BBC Radio London.

Aaron was ever present as Tottenham Hotspur reached the Round of 16 in the Champions League, whilst constantly being first with the biggest sporting stories for the capital on his Monday night live programme.

He has gone on to produce a number of exclusive features for ITV celebrating the work of football clubs.

From working with Stoke City on a dementia ‘memories’ project, to helping out the Dons Local Action Group Foodbank at Wimbledon, to highlighting the work of Blackburn Rovers during Ramadan. Aaron has aimed to open the eyes of the country to what their football clubs offer the local community.

This year’s Asian Media Awards winners were announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday October 27.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati, Faisal Islam, Adil Ray & Lisa Aziz.

The University of Salford are Premier Partners to the Asian Media Awards.

Partners to the awards include ITV, EssenceMediaCom, Reach PLC & Women In Journalism.

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, Opus Broadband, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Fritz AV, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts