Tina Daheley Named Media Personality of the Year 2023

Tina Daheley urged young journalists to never let ‘fear hold them back’ as she was named Media Personality of the Year at the 2023 Asian Media Awards.

The stars of radio, TV and broadcasting were honoured at the 11th Asian Media Awards ceremony at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday (27 October).

The awards celebrated winners in a range of categories in journalism, stage, online and creative media.


Tina was honoured for work as a presenter and broadcaster who has also challenged the pressures women face in the workplace whilst also celebrating diversity in the media.

She is the news presenter on The Zoe Ball Breakfast show on BBC Radio 2 and presents the BBC’s longest running TV series, Points of View. Tina also regularly hosts BBC Breakfast and prime-time bulletins on the BBC News at Six and BBC News at Ten.

She has been a familiar face on our TV screens hosting Crimewatch, Crimewatch Roadshow, Panorama, The Woman’s Football World Cup, The Royal Wedding of the Duke and Duchess of Sussex and the BBC’s Coronation coverage of King Charles III.

Tina has also helmed Woman’s Hour on BBCR 4, The Cultural Frontline on BBC World Service, Newscast on BBC Sounds, and The Jeremy Vine Show on Radio 2.

Outside of her work she has spoken openly about body image and the perceptions of women in the workplace. Her comments resonated with people not only in the media but across a wide range of professions.

Tina was presented her award by the Director of Content at BBC’s Children in Need and AMA panel member, Tommy Nagra, who paid tribute to a broadcaster who has ‘made an invaluable effort to inspire media professionals of all backgrounds across diverse audiences’.

Speaking on the night Tina said: “It is an honour to be receiving this award and incredibly humbling.

“I started out in broadcasting longer than I would like to admit, about 16 years ago, when, I think it is fair to say, there only used to be space for one brown person in each lane.

“So, being in this room with all this in credible talent and seeing your being celebrated by the Asian Media Awards is testament to how much progress being made. And that is brilliant to see.”

Tina paid tribute to her parents who joined her at the ceremony.

“This award has to go to my family. I would have not made this far if it was not for them.

“My dad is the hardest working and smartest person I know. I don’t think he ever got to fulfil his potential. He is a massive inspiration. And thank you mum for waking up with me at all hours for the morning when I was studying. It was never an ask. She is always there to support me.”

She said she had been incredibly lucky to have had so many opportunities but she was not ashamed to admit being ‘terrified’ when doing something for the first time.

Tina said: “So, my advice is if you are early on in your career or just starting out – don’t let fear hold you back, because I promise you the reward is worth it.

“Another thing is never stop listening to feedback, not from social media trolls but from people you respect and your peers.

“And finally, the most important thing, is be kind to each other.”

The 2023 ceremony heard from journalists, writers and presenters working across the media landscape.

This year Meera Syal and Sanjeev Bhaskar were honoured with the Sophiya Haque Services to Television, Film & Theatre Award, whilst celebrated sports broadcaster Mihir Bose received the Outstanding Contribution

Other winners on the night included, Coronation Street star Adam Hussain, LBC presenter Sangita Myska and the BBC’s Reha Kansara won the Journalist of the Year award.

This year’s Asian Media Awards winners were announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday October 27.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati, Faisal Islam, Adil Ray & Lisa Aziz.

The University of Salford are Premier Partners to the Asian Media Awards.

Partners to the awards include ITV, EssenceMediaCom, Reach PLC & Women In Journalism.

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, Opus Broadband, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Fritz AV, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts