AMA 2017 Shortlist Announced at ITV London

The 2017 Asian Media Awards finalists have been announced at ITV, The London Studios.

The event was attended by finalists, judges, partners and sponsors.

Speakers on the night (Thursday 21 September) included, Priya Singh, Commissioning Editor, Factual at ITV, Safina Mirza, judging panel member and Head of Promotion and Project Communications at HS2, Salma & Layla Haidrani, winners of Best Blog 2013 and Outstanding Young Journalist 2014 respectively, Sam Patel, Planning Business Director at Primesight; Professor Allan Walker, Dean of the School of Arts and Media, University of Salford and Mike Straney, Director of Major Giving at Sightsavers.

Sonia Sodha, chief leader writer at the Observer was keynote speaker.

Click here to view the full shortlist.


Click here to view pictures from the event.

This year’s Asian Media Awards returns to the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Wednesday October 25 2017.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia and Anita Anand.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, Press Association Training & Primesight.

The official Charity Partners for 2017 are Sightsavers.

The event is also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes Into Languages, AMT Lawyers, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Supreme Dream Events, Payal and Cleartwo.

Related Posts