Asian Media Awards 2015 Winners Announced

The UK’s foremost journalists, broadcasters and media professionals were honoured at the Asian Media Awards last night (Thursday October  29).

The star-studded ceremony hosted by Sky News presenter Jannat Jalil took place at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

Ranvir Singh was named as the Media Personality of the Year 2015. In 2015 she has been seen on ITN News as well as Good Morning Britain and also fronted a number of investigation pieces tackling issues ranging from the refugee crisis to drink driving.

Director Waris Hussein presented the Outstanding Contribution to Media Award to former BBC producer Tara Prem.  It came on a night as  the awards also celebrated 50 years of Asian programming on the BBC.

Celebrated actor Roshan Seth was honoured with the Sophiya Haque Services to British Television and Film Award.

The Asian Media Awards Best Investigation category in 2015 featured ground-breaking work tackling controversial subject matters from across the globe. The recipient of the 2015 award was Leslee Udwin’s film ‘India’s Daughter.’

BBC Current Affairs Editor Kavita Puri was presented with the Journalist of the Year award.

The highly contested University of Salford Outstanding Young Journalist of the Year award was won by Siraj Datoo, Political Reporter with the website Buzzfeed.

ITV Meridian’s Sangeeta Bhabra was named Regional Journalist of the Year.

‘Slave Wives’ a report by BBC Newsnight won the TV  Report of the Year  2015 award.

Anita  Anand was  named  Radio Presenter of the Year, whilst the  Noreen Khan Show on the BBC Asian Network was named  Best  Radio Show.

The BBC Asian Network picked-up their third consecutive AMA  in the Radio Station of the Year category. Media Moguls and Star Plus also picked-up their third AMA in their respective categories.

Sabras Radio who celebrated their 20th anniversary in 2015 was named Regional Radio Station of the Year.
Natasha Mudhar beat-off strong competition to win the Media Professional of the Year accolade.

Asad Shan was  named TV Presenter  of the Year and Desi Rascals  named  Best TV Show.

Rakhee Thakrar’s portrayal of Shabnam Masood in Eastenders saw  her presented with the Best TV Character Award.

Live stage productions featured as a new category in this year’s awards, with Bend It Like Beckham, The Musical, winning the new accolade.

The Best Event Award went to Leicester City Council’s annual Diwali Lights Switch-on.

Leeds based newspaper Asian Express won the Publication of the Year  Award.

In the Online section Amena  Beauty, known more  commonly as Pearl Daisy was named  Best  Blog whilst picked-up their second AMA for Best Website in two years.

Parle Patel was presented with the Best Video Channel Award for Planet Parle.

Click here for the full list of winners.

The Asian Media  Awards  took place  on Thursday October  29 at the Hilton  Manchester Deansgate.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom & Press Association Training.

The 2015 AMA’s supported Plan UK’s ‘Because I am a Girl’ Campaign.

The Asian Media Awards 2015 is supported by University of SalfordHilton Manchester DeansgateCarter Law SolicitorsManchester Metropolitan UniversityRoutes into LanguagesEvoque MedicalZac DeanRide LeasingAMT LawyersITV, MediaComPress Association Training, Supreme Dream Events, Cleartwo, Payal, Plan UK & Because I Am A Girl.

For further information please e-mail

Related Posts