BBC Asian Network’s The Everyday Hustle Named Best Radio Show 2022

The Everyday Hustle on the BBC Asian Network clinched the Best Radio Show accolade at the 10th Asian Media Awards.

With inspirational stories and top tips from experts, The Everyday Hustle aims to give audiences an insight into the latest business trends.


Presenter Sonya Barlow brings her own valuable experiences to the show which encourages young people to pursue their goals no matter where they may find themselves in life.

Highlights from the past year have included the incredible story of Asim Amin, the founder of Plumm, who used his own mental health struggles to create his own successful business and the ‘New Year New Business’ series, where Sonya explored four simple steps to launching your side hustle in2022 across four episodes.

The award was presented by singer Tasha Tah.

Accepting the award on the night was show producer Xanthe Palmer and BBC Asian Network head, Ahmed Hussain.

Xanthe said: “I am absolutely blown away. Sonya deserves this due to her amazing effort.

“Sonya is an incredible young woman. She has never presented before.

“So many young people who listen to the show and fans…will be inspired by her winning the award tonight.”

The 2022 Asian Media Awards celebrated the achievements of journalists, broadcasters and leading creative industry professionals.

The ceremony hosted by Sky Sports News presenter Bela Shah also saw special awards for LBC News host Lisa Aziz, BBC 5Live broadcaster Nihal Arthanayake and acclaimed TV and stage actor Kulvinder Ghir.

The awards honoured journalism, online, radio, TV, creative media, stage, theatre and live events in 23 categories and was back at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate where the first awards took place in 2013.

The University of Salford are the Premier Partners for the awards which aim to shine a light on the accomplishments of media professionals from across the UK.

The 2022 Asian Media Awards winners of all categories and special awards were revealed at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday October 28.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati, Faisal Islam & Adil Ray.

The University of Salford are Premier Partners to the Asian Media Awards.

Partners to the awards include ITV, MediaCom, Reach PLC, Manchester Evening News &

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, 6G Internet, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Fritz AV, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts