Geo TV Wins TV Channel of the Year 2023

Geo TV became the first Pakistani channel to win at the Asian Media Awards.

The stars of radio, TV and broadcasting gathered at the 11th AMA ceremony at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate.

The awards, which are supported by the University of Salford, celebrated winners in a range of categories in journalism, stage, online and creative media and were hosted by Magic FM’s Neev Spencer.


Those honoured on the night included broadcaster Tina Daheley, LBC presenter Sangita Myska and Mihir Bose who received the Outstanding Contribution to Media Award.

Geo TV won in a category which has been dominated by Ustav Plus (formerly Star Plus) and Sony Entertainment Television who have won the award eight times between them.

On hand to present the award were media personalities and radio presenters Sunny and Shay.

Speaking on the day Baseem Baig Chagtai said: “I saw some great talent inside.

“Geo has got some of the top rated and current affairs and news and they are all in the Urdu language.

“There are seven thousand people who work with us and this award goes to them.”

Earlier on stage he paid tribute to the pioneers of Asian Media.

“I recently visited the British library for some research that is where I saw the Times announcing the availability of the first ethnic newspaper the Daily Jang. This was exceptional.

“I have had the pleasure of meeting some of those people from a seventies and what a tough job they had.”

Geo TV broadcasts to countries across the world.

In the UK the channel is one of the most popular Asian TV channels, watched primarily, but not exclusively by the Pakistani community.

The channel offers up range of exclusive dramas, serials, talk shows and morning shows including Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hai and Baylagaam.

The dramas have proved to be popular across the continent reaching audiences from different backgrounds and cultures. Over the past year Geo TV has consistently been competing at the top end of the TV ratings.

This year’s Asian Media Awards winners were announced at the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Friday October 27.

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia, Anita Rani, Shobna Gulati, Faisal Islam, Adil Ray & Lisa Aziz.

The University of Salford are Premier Partners to the Asian Media Awards.

Partners to the awards include ITV, EssenceMediaCom, Reach PLC & Women In Journalism.

The awards are also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, AMT Lawyers, DKR Accountants, Opus Broadband, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Fritz AV, Payal Events & Cleartwo.

Related Posts