UK’s Leading Journalists To Be Honoured At 2017 AMA’s

The Manchester Metropolitan University and Routes into Languages North West will support the 2017 Asian Media Awards Journalist of the Year category for the fifth year.

The Journalist of the Year category honours some of the UK’s most foremost journalists, writers and broadcasters.

The accolade is awarded to an individual who has made a lasting impression with a series of reports on TV, radio, print and online.

He or she is also an individual whose talent and drive has also helped to inspire others within the media industry.

In 2016 the Independent’s Defence Correspondent, Kim Sengupta was named Journalist of the Year. The shortlist included, film maker and journalist Mobeen Azhar, Ashish Joshi of Sky News, Malik Meer of the Guardian, writer Anita Sethi and the BBC’s Divya Talwar.

Sharon Handley, Pro VC for the Faculty of Arts and Humanities at Manchester Metropolitan University said: “We are pleased to sponsor the Journalist of the Year category at the Asian Media Awards for the fifth year running.

“As a University, we are committed to valuing diversity and supporting new talent. For the media to truly represent the community it serves, we need people from all backgrounds to feel inspired to enter the profession – that is exactly what these awards support.

“Not only are we at Manchester Metropolitan University at the forefront of spotting future talent, we are also committed to nurturing the talent and ensuring we provide the best opportunities for our students.”

Routes into Languages Project Manager, Yasmin Hussain said, “The sponsorship continues to demonstrate our support for raising the profile of journalism to produce future talented journalists.

“Both the faculty of Arts and Humanities and Routes into Languages NW are committed to raising educational attainment and achievement of pupils across the region.”

Umbreen Ali, Media Manager said, “The Manchester Metropolitan University and Routes Into Languages North West have been key supporters of the Asian Media Awards and the Journalist of the Year category for five years.

“It is a commitment that has helped us to showcase the work of some of the leading journalists in the UK.

“In 2017 the shortlist will again look to honour those journalists and broadcasters whose work has had a huge impact on raising issues affecting all communities.”

Sponsored by MMU Routes IG

This year’s Asian Media Awards returns to the Hilton Manchester Deansgate on Wednesday October 25 2017.

The official shortlist announcement will take place at ITV, The London Studios on Thursday September 21 2017.

A full list of all categories including special awards can be viewed at

Previous recipients of an Asian Media Award include Krishnan Guru-Murthy, Waris Hussein, Art Malik, Mehdi Hasan, Nina Wadia and Anita Anand.

The University of Salford are premier sponsors and partners to the event include ITV, MediaCom, M.E.N, Press Association Training & Primesight.

The official Charity Partners for 2017 are Sightsavers.

The event is also supported by Manchester Metropolitan University, Routes Into Languages, AMT Lawyers, Hilton Manchester Deansgate, Supreme Dream Events, Payal and Cleartwo.

Related Posts